Gujarat Assembly election 2022 LIVE updates: Final phase of voting to begin at 8am


Gujarat Assembly election 2022 LIVE updates: The second and final phase of polling for the high-stake Gujarat assembly election will begin at 8am Monday. The voting will be held in 93 out of 182 Assembly seats across 14 districts of central Gujarat, including Ahmedabad, Vadodara, and Gandhinagar. Polling for 89 seats took place on December 1 with results for both phases due December 8 after counting of the votes. Some prominent candidates in this phase are chief minister Bhupendra Patel (Ghatlodia), Patidar leader Hardik Patel (Viramgam), OBC leader Alpesh Thakor (Gandhinagar South), former minister Shankar Chaudhary (Tharad) and Jignesh Mevani (Vadgam). While Patel, Thakor, and Chaudhary are contesting as BJP candidates, Mevani is in the fray from Congress. 

Twenty-five million voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in this phase of polling, including 12.9 million men and 12.2 million women. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union home minister Amit Shah will also cast their votes in Ahmedabad. The Prime Minister’s home state has been a BJP stronghold and the party is eyeing a record seventh term. The Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP and the Congress are other key parties in the fray.

Follow all the updates here:

  • Dec 05, 2022 07:09 AM IST

    Gujarat second phase voting prep on in Ahmedabad

    Preparations underway for Gujarat Assembly second phase polling, visuals from Nishan Public school, Ranip, where Prime Minister Narendra Modi will cast his vote.

  • Dec 05, 2022 06:54 AM IST

    Gujarat Assembly election: Phase one polling voter turnout 

    The first phase of voting on December 1 recorded 63.31% turnout. The Election Commission of India on Saturday issued a special appeal to voters ahead of the next phase on Monday, urging them to reverse the “urban apathy”.  Read more

    Full Gujarat election coverage link

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Enable Google Transliteration.(To type in English, press Ctrl+g)