Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards announced


BHUBANESWAR: Sangeet Natak Akademi, the national academy of music, dance and drama, New Delhi, on Friday announced names for the Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards (Akademi Puraskar) for the years 2019, 2020 and 2021 in the field of music, dance, theatre, traditional/folk/tribal music/dance/theatre, puppetry and overall contribution/scholarship in the performing arts.
Names of many artists from Odisha and its dance form Odissi were in the list of 128 award winning people. For the year 2021, noted theatre director Manoj Pattnaik will get the award for direction. While singer Susmita Das will receive the award under Sugam Sangeet category of music, Bijay Kumar Jena will get it in the category of music for dance.
For the year 2020, Rabindra Atibudhi and Trilochana Mohanta will get the award for Odissi dance and Chhau dance respectively. Sutapa Talukdar will receive the award in Odissi dance category for the year 2019.
The Akademi has also announced names of artists for the Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar for the years 2019, 2020 and 2021. Vinod Kevin Bachan, Pravat Kumar Swain and Swapnakalpa Dasgupta will get this award under Odissi dance category for the year 2021, 2020 and 2019 respectively. Others were, Rupak Kumar Parida for Odissi music for the year 2020, Bishwanath Kumbhakar for Chhau dance (2019) and Santosh Kumar Rana for Prahlad Natak (2019).
The Akademi also announced names of winners of Sangeet Natak Akademi Amrit Award. Four from Odisha will receive this award. They were- Siba Prasad Das for Chhau dance, Anant Mahapatra for theatre, Ananda Bag for folk music (Brahma Veena) and Gobinda Chandra Pal for Odissi dance (Gotipua).
The Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards will be conferred by the President of India in a special investiture ceremony.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Enable Google Transliteration.(To type in English, press Ctrl+g)